African Swine Fever confirmed in Indonesia

By Aidan Fortune

- Last updated on GMT

African Swine Fever confirmed in Indonesia

Related tags African swine fever Indonesia China Pork Livestock

African Swine Fever (ASF) continues to cut a path through Asia, with Indonesia the latest country in the region to have a confirmed case of the disease.

According to an update on the epidemic from FAO Animal Health, the Indonesian Minister of Agriculture announced the confirmation of an ASF outbreak in the North Sumatra Province on 12 December 2019.

FAO reported that since late September, increased pig mortality have been reported in North Sumatra and some other provinces. It is liaising with the Directorate General of Livestock and Animal Health Services while the Director of Animal Health requested FAO to provide recommendations on containment and control of ASF in the event that the disease is confirmed as present in the country.

Since the first outbreak of ASF was confirmed in China in August 2018, every single province in the country has been affected, leading to a cull of millions of pigs in an attempt to stop the spread of the disease. This has led to a massive skewing of pork prices and China opening its doors to imports from other markets.

In its latest Rabobank update on the issue, global strategist – animal protein Justin Sherrard said: “The ongoing spreading of the disease, and the price response to the impacts of ASF are rightly under the spotlight. The market is improving its understanding of the issue and its near- and longer-term implications, but uncertainty is just as much a part of the picture.”

The Rabobank report also warned that China’s imports of pork have continued at strong levels, testing global supply availability and driving up prices. Imports of other species have also risen, and the availability of tradable supplies and prices are affected across the board. Other countries affected by ASF have yet to lift their imports, which will further tighten global supply.

Global Meat News’ webinar on African Swine Fever is still available to download​.

Affected provinces in Asia:

China​: Anhui, Heilongjiang, Henan, Jilin, Liaoning, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Shanxi, Yunnan, Hunan and Guizhou, Hubei, Jiangxi, Fujian, Sichuan, Shaanxi, Qinghai, Guangdong, Gansu, Shandong and Hainan Provinces, Tianjin, Chongqing, Shanghai and Beijing Municipalities, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia Hui, Guangxi Zhuang, Xinjiang Uygur and Tibet (Xizang) Autonomous Regions and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR).

Mongolia​: Bulgan, Darkhan-Uul, Dundgovi, Orkhon, Selenge, Töv Provinces and Ulaanbaatar.

Viet Nam​: Hung Yen, Thai Binh, Thanh Hoa, Ha Nam, Hai Duong, Dien Bien, Hoa Binh, Thai Nguyen, Quang Ninh, Ninh Binh, Nam Dinh, Bac Kan, Lang Son, Nghe An, Son La, Bac Ninh, Thua Thien-Hue, Bac Giang, Lai Chau, Quang Tri, Vinh Phuc, Cao Bang, Khanh Hoa, Hau Giang, Vinh Long, Dong Nai, Phu Thọ, Yen Bai, Binh Phuoc, Lao Cai, An Giang, Ha Tinh, Quang Nam, Dak Nong, Kien Giang, Soc Trang, Dong Thap, Gia Lai, Ha Giang, Tuyen Quang, Binh Duong, Ca Mau, Quang Ngai, Dak Lak, Tien Giang, Kon Tum, Bac Lieu, Bình Định, Tra Vinh, Binh Thuan, Quang Binh, Long An, Phu Yen, Ba Ria - Vung Tau, Lam Dong, Ben Tre Provinces, Tay Ninh, Ninh Thuan Provinces, Hai Phong, Ha Noi, Can Tho, Da Nang and Ho Chi Minh Cities.

Cambodia​: Ratanakiri, Tboung Khmum, Svay Rieng, Takeo and Kandal Provinces.

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea​: Chagang-Do.

Lao People’s Democratic Republic​: All provinces and municipality.

Myanmar​: Shan State.

The Philippines​: Rizal, Bulacan, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, Cavite Provinces and Metro Manila (Caloocan, Malabon and Quezon Cities).

Republic of Korea​: Gyeonggi-do, Gangwon-do and Incheon City.

Timor-Leste​: Dili City.

Indonesia​: North Sumatra Province.

(Source: FAO)

Related topics Meat

Related news

Follow us


View more