News in brief

Don’t ignore wheat starch for gluten-free foods, says supplier

By Niamh Michail contact

- Last updated on GMT

© iStock
© iStock

Related tags: Gluten free products, Starch, Wheat

Native starch made from wheat can be gluten-free, according to German company Kröner-Stärke, which washes the gluten from the ingredient.

Its Sanostar ingredient is produced without the use of enzymes or processing aids. Instead, the gluten is washed out using untreated spring water in a "natural​" process, it said.

The starch functions well in cakes and biscuits compared to corn or tapioca starches, it said, creating tastes “more akin to traditional recipes​”.

Sanostar can also be used as a gluten-free binding agent for sauces such as béarnaise or béchamel as well as in batters or coatings.

Andrew Ulrick, Director of Ulrick & Short, Kröner-Stärke’s partner in the UK said: “Market demand for gluten free continues to grow, and in the case of Sanostar & Sanogel consumers can feel totally confident that even with a 'wheat starch' declaration these products are functionally and nutritionally suitable for a gluten-free diet.”

Sanostar can be listed as a gluten-free wheat starch on pack and the company said it is "completely suitable​" for people intolerant to gluten and sufferers of coeliac disease.

Henrik de Vries, commercial manager at Kröner-Stärke told FoodNavigator: “All our gluten-free products are suitable for people with coeliac disease. Every batch is tested in our internal and an external lab to avoid any risk of a too high gluten content in the final product by a cross contamination. The content of gluten in the final product was reduced significantly and the products are all in accordance with the recommendations of the German Coeliac Association.”

According to market research company Euromonitor, the gluten-free market was worth €1.4 billion in 2011 and is expected to hit €3.9bn by 2020.

Related topics: Business

Related news

Follow us

Featured Events

View more

Products

View more

Webinars