Going for gold at this year’s World Steak Challenge

By Aidan Fortune contact

- Last updated on GMT

The World Steak Challenge is back for 2018
The World Steak Challenge is back for 2018

Related tags: Beef

On 4 July at the Magic Roundabout in London, the world’s top beef producers will battle it out to win the World Steak Challenge.

As well as the top prize, the very best steaks, as judged by our panel of independent experts, will be awarded Gold Medal status. Since the World Steak Challenge began in 2015, 40 Gold Medals have been awarded to producers from 13 different countries.

Australia leads the charge in the number of Gold Medal winners it is home to, with nine, helped of course by Jack’s Creek winning the competition two years in a row.

In second place comes Northern Ireland with five gold medals, followed closely by England, Scotland and Spain who are all on four.

Grass versus grain

Slightly more grain-fed entries have been awarded Gold Medal status since the event’s conception, 20 against 18, and no grass-fed entry has ever won the top prize. Will this change in 2018? Last year, the Best Grass-fed Steak was won by Martin’s Meat of England, showing that there is certainly some love for grass-fed steaks.

The final cut

Benefiting from being the original category in the World Steak Challenge, sirloin has a two-year head-start on fillet and rib-eye, but look for them to make up ground this year.

Deadline for entries is 4 June. Click here​ for more details on the 2018 World Steak Challenge. 

Gold Medal Winners







Northern Ireland






Republic of Ireland

Related topics: Meat

Related news

Show more

Follow us


View more