SQFI launches edition 8 of SQF Code

By Joseph James Whitworth

- Last updated on GMT

SQF Code edition 8 is applicable to audits from January 2018
SQF Code edition 8 is applicable to audits from January 2018

Related tags Food safety Codex alimentarius

The Safe Quality Food Institute (SQFI) has launched version 8 of the SQF Code.

The update on version 7 is for use by all industry sectors​ from primary production to storage and distribution and includes a food safety code for retailers.

SQF Code edition 8 is applicable to all certification and surveillance audits after January 2, 2018.

Sites with an existing SQF certification will be required to upgrade to meet requirements in edition 8.

All food safety codes will be submitted to the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) for benchmarking of industry scopes that have GFSI requirements.

The SQF Code is a process and product certification standard with emphasis on the systematic application of Codex Alimentarius Commission HACCP principles and guidelines.

Licensed certification bodies include FSNS, NSF, Bureau Vertias, ASI Food Safety, SAI Global, AIB, SGS, BSI, Cert-ID, DNV-GL, Intertek, Eurofins, Asure Quality and Tuv Sud Americas.  

In other news, the European Commission is running a course based on the estimation of measurement uncertainty and establishment of traceability.

It is for lab managers in analytical labs who use reference materials for statistical quality control, method validation and calibration and need to assess measurement uncertainties on customer’s demand or as a requirement of ISO 17025 and ISO 17025 auditors.

Reference materials provide accuracy of methods and demonstrating proficiency of laboratories.

The course is at the Joint Research Centre in Geel, Belgium on October 11-12.

Registration costs €300 is restricted to 30 people and is on a first come-first served basis. Send an e-mail to: wep-trr-ez-pbhefr@rp.rhebcn.rh

Related topics Food Safety & Quality

Related news

Show more

Follow us


View more