New names at the FSA's microbiological safety committee

By staff reporter

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags Medicine Infectious disease

The UK's FSA has announced three new appointments to the advisory
committee on the microbiological safety of food (ACMSF).

The appointments run from 1 April 2006.

Dr Richard Holliman, consultant and reader in clinical microbiology at St George's Hospital, London, and Jennifer Morris, food safety policy officer at the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health, have both been appointed as members until 31 March 2009.

Dr Sally Millership, consultant in communicable disease control at Essex Health Protection Unit and honorary consultant in microbiology at the Princess Alexandra Hospital Trust, has been appointed until 31 March 2007.

Set up in 1990, this statutory committee provides expert advice to Government on questions relating to microbiological issues and food. It also provides advice in response to requests from the Food Standards Agency and also on matters that committee members themselves identify as important. It consists of independent experts drawn from a wide range of interests.

It has produced a number of comprehensive scientific reports, prepared by Working Groups and based on the most up-to-date information available.

Agendas of meetings are published in advance on this website and Committee papers and minutes are placed on the website after each meeting. All of the four meetings held each year are open to the public.

Related topics Science

Related news

Follow us


View more