SUBSCRIBE

Breaking News on Food & Beverage Development - EuropeUS edition | APAC edition

Products > Live Supplier Webinar

Making sugar-replacement meaningful to the consumer

29-Mar-2017
8:45am London - 9:45am Paris - 3:45pm Singapore
Published: 08-Mar-2017 | Format: Webinar | Document type: Supplier Webinar
Beneo

Every third consumer in Europe cuts sugar because of health reasons. Sugar reduction and replacement are important tactics to fight the growing challenges of overweight, diabetes and other related NCD’s. However, the food industry’s current approaches need to be re-examined as they are neither effective nor sustainable.
Often sugars are replaced by starches (e.g. maltodextrin) which are not classified as sugars but are high glycaemic and have the same calories. Such label cosmetics are not sufficient to support the consumer in making a conscious choice. We must think beyond the label and the blunt call for “sugar reduction”. The solution is based on the glycaemic profile of foods, not just their labelled sugar content.

Speaker:

  • Anke Sentko

    Anke Sentko

    Vice President Regulatory Affairs & Nutrition Communication

    BENEO Institute

Supplier's Info Centre

Beneo